Board of Directors

David Baffsky, AO LLB

David Baffsky AO holds a law degree from the University of Sydney and was the founder, and until 1991, the senior partner of a Sydney legal firm specialising in commercial and fiscal law. David is Honorary Chairman (formerly executive chairman between 1993 and 2008) of Accor Asia Pacific, which is the largest hotel management company in the Asia Pacific region. He is chairman of Investa Property Group, a director of SATS Limited (Singapore) and chairman of Food & Allied Support Services Corporation Ltd. He is also a board member of Sydney Olympic Park Authority, Destination NSW and the Australian Brandenburg Orchestra.

Amongst previous roles, Mr Baffsky was a Trustee of the Art Gallery of NSW, chairman of Voyages Indigenous Tourism Ltd and a director of the Indigenous Land Corporation. He was a member of the Business Government Advisory Group on National Security and a member of the federal government’s Northern Australia Land and Water Taskforce.

In 2001 Mr Baffsky was made an officer in the General Division of the Order of Australia and in 2003 he received the Centenary Medal. In 2004 he was recognised as the Asia Pacific Hotelier of the Year. In 2012 he was awarded the Chevalier in the Order of National Légion d’Honneur of France.

Kevin Will Seymour, AM (Deputy Chairman)

Mr Seymour AM, was appointed as a Director of Ariadne on 23 December 1992.

Mr Seymour is a Director of Tatts Group Limited (appointed 12 October 2006), having been a Director of UniTAB Limited (appointed 1 September 2000) prior to its merger with Tattersall’s Limited.

Mr Seymour also served as a Director of Watpac Limited (appointed May 1996 and resigned 24 September 2013).

Mr Seymour is the Executive Chairman of Seymour Group, one of the largest private property development and investment companies in Queensland and has substantial experience in the equities market in Australia and has extensive management and business experience including company restructuring. Mr Seymour holds board positions with several private companies in Australia. In June 2003, Mr Seymour received the Centenary Medal for distinguished service to business and commerce through the construction industry, and in June 2005 he was awarded the Order of Australia Medal for his service to business, the racing industry, and the community.

Mr Seymour was previously the Chairman of the RBH Herston Taskforce Redevelopment, Independent Chairman of the Queensland Government’s and Brisbane City Council's Brisbane Housing Company Limited and Chairman of Briz31 Community TV. He has also served on the Brisbane Lord Mayor's Drugs Taskforce and is an Honorary Ambassador for the City of Brisbane.

Maurice William Loomes, B Com (Ecom Hons), F Fin

Mr Loomes, was appointed as a Director of Ariadne on 20 May 2004.

Mr Loomes is also a Director of Hillgrove Resources Limited (appointed 25 November 2013). During the past three years, Mr Loomes has also served as Chairman of CIC Australia Limited (appointed September 1994 and resigned 24 May 2013) and Calliden Group Limited (appointed 24 October 2000 and resigned 15 December 2014).

Mr Loomes has an extensive background in investment analysis and strategy and for a number of years was a senior executive with Guinness Peat Group plc. Mr Loomes was appointed to the Ariadne Audit and Risk Management Committee on 20 May 2004.

John William Murphy, B Com, M Com, CA, FCPA

Mr Murphy, was appointed as a Director of Ariadne on 6 December 2006.

Mr Murphy was the founder and Managing Director of Investec Wentworth Private Equity Limited from 2002 until 2011 and a Director of Investec Bank Australia Limited from 2004 until 2014. He is also a Director of Gale Pacific Limited (appointed 24 August 2007).

During the past three years, Mr Murphy has also served on the board of the following public companies Redflex Holdings Limited (appointed 7 April 2014 and resigned 13 March 2015), Vocus Communications Limited (appointed 7 March 2003 and resigned 22 February 2016) and Kresta Holdings Limited (appointed 13 February 2014 and resigned 29 August 2014).

Mr Murphy was appointed to the Ariadne Audit and Risk Management Committee on 6 December 2006 and was elected Committee Chairman on 18 March 2008.

Dr. Gary Weiss, LLB (Hons), LLM, JSD (Executive Director)

Dr Weiss, was appointed as a Director of Ariadne on 28 November 1989.

Dr Weiss is Chairman of Ridley Corporation Limited (appointed as Chairman on 1 July 2015) and Secure Parking Pty Ltd (appointed 1 November 2004). He is a Director of Premier Investments Limited (appointed 11 March 1994), The Straits Trading Company Limited (appointed 1 June 2014), Pro-Pac Packaging Limited (appointed 28 May 2012), Tag Pacific Limited (appointed 1 October 1988), Thorney Opportunities Ltd (appointed 21 November 2013) and Estia Health Ltd (appointed 24 February 2016).

During the past three years, Dr Weiss has also served as the Chairman of Coats plc (appointed 4 February 2003, resigned 30 April 2012) and Clearview Wealth Limited (appointed 22 October 2012 and resigned 17 May 2016) and as a Director of Mercantile Investment Company Limited (appointed 6 March 2012 and resigned 25 February 2015). Dr Weiss acts as an Alternate Director of Mercantile Investment Company Limited (appointed 25 February 2015).